Veggie Supreme

I’ve continued with my committment to avoid the “industrialized meat” that is so common out there.  I don’t have an actual number of days count to supply ( I can go back through old posts and check) but it’s been roughly 3.5 weeks of eating no meat with the exception of fish/seafood (not farmed!). I have to say….and I never thought I’d say it…..I feel amazing. Physically I feel most excellent. It’s been a drastic change in the way I eat, as well as the way I think about what food I put into my body.

I just returned from a 4 day trip for work. Having to eat out most of the time used to be considered a treat. This time, I was way more cautious and tried the veggie options for each meal. Some were alright but it didn’t necessarily mean they were healthy. What is it with restaurants needing to fry everything or soak it all in butter or oil? Maybe we like the comfort-style foods, which typically means fatty. Don’t get me wrong, I like comfort food for sure (especially home-made baked mac ‘n cheese). But having ordered a veggie sandwich at lunch, that sounded great on the menu turned out to be two pieces of bread soaked in oil with melted cheese and some limp pieces of lettuce. yikes!

I have yet to actually cook up and eat my ethical meat purchases from the farmers market, but I will. Once I warm up to the idea. What I have enjoyed is the peace of mind I have. And the added knowledge about this crazy food industry we are surrounded by. I urge anyone with the slightest bit of interest to start researching where your groceries in your fridge originated. I also wonder what the food industries are like around the world, since mainly the books I have focus on North America. Thoughts?

3 responses to “Veggie Supreme

  1. So interestingly enough, this whole topic made its way into a debate with some “very traditional” old world and new Greek housewives, after I had mentioned your new findings and food direction Starting with the argument between butcher meat vs. the grocery store packaged meat. As you know, Europeans still havent fully sold out to huge super-corps…. like Walmart that carries all of lifes needs under one roof. Sure things are modernizing and large grocery chains are making headway (admist the economic crisis) , but a lot of old-skool traditions continue. Such as, your bread comes from the baker, your fish comes from the fish market, and your meat comes from the butcher. Supermarkets of course carry packaged meat, and we got on topic of where we buy meat. 6 out of the 7 said they only bought meat from the butcher, because its “local” meat. I simply asked how they knew this? Has anyone asked our local ‘hasapi’ (butcher) where the meat comes from? Where is the farm located? What is the livestock fed / living conditions? What is the common age of slaughter? I was intrigued by your research and really did want to know if anyone else knew beyond the price and “local” sign in the display case. No body knew the answers. Some were quick to defence by saying that “it says local”, all I asked is, how do they really know? This did trigger and open curiosity though, and I know two women that will be drilling the butcher with questions tomorrow… it’ll be interesting to see what the outcome is. (I’ll keep you posted) I know that here in greece, lamb (and goat) is an obvious huge meat choice. Although, I dont eat either, I do notice it is the one meat that is always stamped with the farm, and local ID on it. (Maybe its this way, because its commonly bought whole, though) I cant say the same for any other meat though. Only the little price sign says local.

    On another note, living in Europe for 6 yrs I have noticed a difference in food quality and product here. At times I may have really hated the lack of convenient foods, and pre packaged / prepared food, but I do think that the choices and quality of food and meat must be healthier that that of N americas. Chicken and Poultry can not be found at gargantuan sizes at holiday time. I have searched for that traditional Thanksgiving / xmas turkey, that was 25+ lbs, like I was used to growing up, over the holidays. Monster-sized turkeys simply cant be found. Maybe this means that they are not filled with plumpers and hormones, as much as they are at home? I don’t know. But there is a huge difference. Same goes for those huge pure white juicy chicken breasts you can find at any grocery chain. Chicken breasts here, look like they came from a small chicken, not come turkey sized -pseudo chicken. All I am saying, is there is a major difference in meat size, taste and probably quality. I’ll keep you posted on the butcher findings! Ive opened up a can of spam with the old ya-yas here. 😉

    • Wow that IS great! Love to hear about more people really thinking about it. I had a feeling that things were more “traditional” in Greece/European countries. I’m interested to hear what feedback you get. Keep me posted!

  2. http://shine.yahoo.com/channel/food/2-grocery-store-ripoffs-you-need-to-know-about-2564497/

    Interesting article that made me think twice about alot of products I buy at the supermarket……. Give it a look!

Leave a Reply

