Time management?

Lately I feel like I have so much to do, or so much that I want to do but can’t figure out how to make it all happen. I have a zillion ideas in my head about mini projects I’d like to get cracking on but find that I run out of time or energy to make them happen.

No, I am not wasting insane amounts of time on my new video game. I’ve actually told myself I’m allowed about an hour each day to play but haven’t even gotten around to fulfilling that time block consistently.

Because I work at two jobs (but one is more casual and I am on call) last night I accepted a crap load of shifts in the next couple of weeks. They are mostly graveyard shifts where I have to be awake – gross I know. But I thought that I could use this dead time to chip away at some of my projects? I need to knit, read for a course I am taking, meditate, plan for the chicken coop (it needs renos and I have ideas!) and write more. You see, these are the things I have been neglecting but want to be working on.

How do other people manage their time efficiently? How do YOU make sure you do the things that are important to you without feeling exhausted? I am happily accepting ideas on how to not become a victim of the couch as soon as I walk in the door and make time to work on myself.

-SM

2 responses to “Time management?

  1. The most important thing that, for me, has worked wth time management is to make a calendar for myself, have notifications set up, and project timelines. Also, it’s really important to not beat yourself up if you miss an “appointment”. I find that if I’m rough on myself that I fall even further behind…just realize that there will be times that you won’t get to everything no matter how good your intentions are, and that’s totally OK.

    Of course, as a new parent, all these good practices are flying right out the window. I am a save to the Infant Overlord, so if YOU have any ideas on how to better manage the things I need to do at the same time I’d love to hear them. Right now my method of dealing with it is “clean pants? Who needs them. I need to wash another load of swaddle blankets.” and “vacuuming? If I ignore the filth, it doesn’t exist.” šŸ™‚

  2. I hate time management. LOL, oftentimes I’ll spend more time thinking about what I should do and when than actually doing stuff. I’ll wake up on a lazy, rainy day (like today) and be like ‘ok, should I catch up on some movies so my Netflix queue isn’t at 100+? Or maybe I’ll play some video games….Okay what game? Skyrim? Or maybe I should catch up on the 4 different books I’m reading…

    Haha. So if you figure out the secret, be sure to let me know.

Leave a Reply

