Pushing Boundaries and Zones

I sense a revamp of some of my goals coming on….with the addition of making sufficient time in my life to write on my blog. Just a thought.

So boundaries have been on my mind. We have our own personal boundaries that we operate within, for example how comfortable we are disclosing information to other people, how touchy feely we are, how much we allow work to infiltrate our personal life – these are just a few examples I’ve thought of off the top of my head.

Why have I been thinking about my own boundaries? Well last Sunday I amazed myself. I played in my first ever scrimmage (which was so awesome by the way). Unfortunately this post is not going to focus so much on derby (tossing around the idea of a new blog to follow my progression there in the derby world alone and keeping this one my potpourri of life stuff – thoughts?) What was astonishing to me, was that I went. You see, two days before I was meant to go I learned that the other 5 of my teammates had backed out of the scrimmage and failed to let me know. I was sorely disappointed on many levels. First, it was hard to not take it personally right? Why was I out of the loop? Second, I had taken the day off of work (which I can’t really afford, but soooooooo wanted to go) and would be sitting at home feeling sad about how it might have gone. Third, if I didn’t go to the scrimmage I would have had practice that night, and honestly I really didn’t want to go face the folks that backed out on me.

So, against my personal comfort levels I forced myself to make the journey solo. I was completely terrified and at times felt ridiculous, stupid and that I was going to completely suck when I had to skate. As the day progressed though, I was collecting new friends left and right and by the end of the tremendously LOOOOONG day, I realized I had had one of the best days of just me (and a bunch of new friends) in ages. I certainly had to push myself further outside of my own comfort zone but it was worth it. I strongly recommend daring yourself to explore some unknown waters of your own – incredible feeling at the end of it.

Earlier last week, I took a bunch of extra shifts at my second job (one of these things that sounds great when you need the money) and I have paid with my sanity and sleep deprivation this week for it. This week I have pushed myself to the limit of how much work I can take on and how many hours of sleep I actually HAVE to HAVE in order to function. Lesson learned: be realistic about how much you can really take on.

I will do another post on the other things I’m thinking about!

Happy Friday 🙂
-SM

One response to “Pushing Boundaries and Zones

  1. Pingback: Boundaries – Merging Lines Between You and the Rest of the World | sandyseeber

Leave a Reply

