Chicken Day

So my lazy, windy day went out the window soon after I hit “publish” on my earlier post. I was skyping with my sister and perusing Craigslist when I stumbled across an ad for a dozen or so free hens. I looked at the posting and it went up about 15 minutes before I read it, so I sent off a quick email.

Within an hour I was on my way to a nearby farm to load up 14 hens into the back of my pathfinder. A hilarious sight to see indeed. But the short story is, is that WE HAVE CHICKENS! And they were free! So far they seem quite content and curious with their new home and have successfully scratched at and plucked out the weeds in their coop.
So I’ve got 14 ISA Browns that I am hoping will lay some eggs once they settle in to their new digs.

Exciting stuff!

-SM

8 responses to “Chicken Day

  1. Ha!!!! AWESOME!!
    As if there wasn’t a reason to visit before……

  2. Congrats on your new “pets” 🙂 How will you serve up your first egg?

  3. What a farm girl you are turning into. Good Luck with the eggs. Yu will be able to set up a booth at the markets soon.

  4. Very exciting!! Good luck!!!

Leave a Reply

