The Commitment

So not too long ago one of my fellow roller derby team mates (and founder of our league) sent out a message to our Facebook group about commitment to becoming a team. Derby takes up time and energy but I love doing it and the way I feel when I improve my skills.

Not only do we/I as a team member need to go to practice and give it my all, I also need to work at becoming a healthier and more active person. I was inspired by her message because I have watched her throw herself into a huge life change which includes eating as a vegan, losing weight, and training in all sorts of activities to build endurance and stamina. When I read her post I thought “well I go to practice, I am healthyish….”
But really….I could be doing better. So rather than looking at the “learn to run” program I’ve downloaded…I’ve started it and I’m only in week one but it’s a start. Becoming a runner/athlete is hard, scary and daunting really….but I have heard from other runners that once they have gotten into it, it becomes natural.

Today I went for a walk/run at the beach with the dogs and I did not feel like I was going to puke….huzzah! Let’s see how the rest of the week goes 🙂
Any runner-readers out there? I’d love some tips.

Two days until the scrimmage 🙂

-SM

8 responses to “The Commitment

  1. I heart you and all your motivation.
    For realz.

    🙂

  2. I am a runner and a reader 🙂

    Basics, IMO, are endurance before strengthening, to begin with. So, your walk/run technique is right on to begin. Run 5 mins, walk 1 min. Then, in a bit, run 8, walk 1 type idea …

    Running gets easier as you go. Proper technique will be harder at the beginning, but ultimately be easier in the long run.

  3. The more you do, the easier it gets. Just take it easy and don’t injure yourself – listen to your body 🙂 My first attempt at running led to shin splints 😛 Good shoes, better technique and yoga fixed all that.

    Also, goal setting helps. I signed up for a 10k so I’d have something to motivate myself with. Wanna do a charity run in summer when I’m there? 🙂

  4. Yes good shoes seem to be a must since I often get shin splints (and feel them right now). Thanks for the tips, I will work on some running specific goals. Charity run? Sounds like a plan!

  5. Is there any reason why you chose running as your cross training activity?

    • Running is something that I have longed to be able to do. I’ve struggled with being a heavier gal for most of my life and running always seemed so far out of reach. I am at the point now where I feel that I can take it on now and I can see myself being a runner (in the near future!)

      • I have a team mate who says running is for two situations only: running from snakes or rapists 😉
        It’s a good goal – good luck with it 🙂
        PS actually if you see a snake you should stand very still :p

Leave a Reply

